t-valley Preloader
Megan D.'s Profile Photo

Megan D.

5 (0  Ratings)
  • 7 Students
  • 41 Classes
Maths (GCSE) Maths (SECONDARY) Maths (GCSE)
Woking , Surrey

My name is Megan and I am a Chemistry graduate of Queen Mary University of London (Russell Group) graduating with a 1st Class degree. I have over 3 years of tuition experience both online and in person in the following subject levels: • Chemistry assignment and examination support up to undergraduate level (including access courses and adult learning courses) • A-Level/ AS-Level Chemistry • GCSE Maths • GCSE Science (including GCSE Biology, Chemistry and Physics individually) • KS2 and KS3 Maths and Science My previous experience comes from being selected by Queen Mary University as an A-level and AS level Chemistry tutor and mentor for local Colleges. Here I used my knowledge and own experience of sitting those exams to help students reach their academic potential. Subsequently, I have been trained to offer guidance and advice with UCAS applications and further career choices. Additionally, I have tutored Sciences and Maths at GCSE level for 'Team Up' and have worked as a private tutor full-time for the last 8 months helping over 30 students substantially improve their grades. My tutoring experience has given me experience in working with students completing exams with various exam boards (OCR, AQA, EDEXCEL) as well as offering assignment help to a range of students taking access courses or undergraduate courses in Chemistry and Chemistry related fields. I have learnt successful techniques for helping individuals recognise the way they learn best and utilising this approach in their personal study time. I personally enjoy making tutoring session’s fun, engaging and relevant by making links between the syllabus and current developments and applications within the topic.

DBS (CRB) Check: yes [We have collected and approved this users CRB/DBS certificate]

Reference: On file

Education and Scholarships. 2012-2015. BSc Chemistry, Queen Mary University of London (1st Class.) My programme contained a wide range of organic, inorganic, physical and specialist modules including training in practical chemistry. There was a focus on independent study, laboratory work, group work and problem solving. I also completed an independent, original research project based on Density Functional Theory which included producing a final 10,000 word dissertation and delivering a presentation of my research to academics in the field. Summer 2014. Experimental Physics Research Group, Martin Luther University of Halle-Wittenberg. In the summer of 2014, I received a scholarship to carry out research at a German institute. My research was based around Solid-State NMR and I was required to work within the research team as well as present my results and conclusions independently. April 2014. Zhejiang University, China. I spent three weeks in April 2014 undertaking language and cultural courses. 2010-2012. Stoke-on-Trent Sixth Form College.
September 2015- Present, Private Tutor. I work with a range of students of various ages and abilities, providing one-to-one tuition and assignment help to assist students in reaching their potential and goals. I tutor Maths, Chemistry, Physics and Biology up to GCSE standard and Chemistry up to Undergraduate level, as well as having experience helping students complete a range of assignment tasks for chemistry related access courses. 2010-2012. Changes, Volunteer. Through voluntary work in the community, I have completed recognised training courses, worked in an office environment and learnt about the importance of confidentiality and equality. 2012-2013. Queen Mary University of London, Mentor. I spent a year mentoring students at a local college on a weekly basis. The role involved offering support and guidance with both academic and non-academic difficulties.

Tutor Reviews - 0

No Reviews Yet!!